Answers to Alex’s Questions

1 Mar

Meet Alex.

Alex

She is one of my best friends since the 6th grade. She and my other BFFs recently sent me the best care package full of sweet treats, knitting materials and other fun surprises. Enclosed was a letter from Alex asking questions about what exactly I am doing in the Peace Corps. Perhaps this will shed some light to some others as well ☺

What do you do on a day-to-day basis?

Typical Day:

-7:30am: wake up

-7:45-8:30am: Work out (currently doing Insanity videos)

-8:45am: breakfast

-9-10am: phone time on my hill

-10-12am coffee dates with neighbors

-12pm: lunch (always the bandera—rice, beans and meat)

-1-3pm: knitting/napping/charla preparation time

-3pm: women’s health group meeting

-5pm: volleyball or dominos playing time at my neighbor’s house

-7pm: dinner and telenovella time

-8:45pm: retreat to my bedroom to watch something on my computer or read

-10:30pm: lights out

Are you working on any specific project?

For the past 3 months at my site, I was working on a community diagnostic that included visiting every house in my community to do interviews on what the needs of my community are before actually launching any projects. As of now, I am finished with my diagnostic, have submitted my work plan for the next two years and I am focused on three main projects: 1) Hogares Saludables: Working with women in my community to become health promoters for a house-to-house campaign to teach everyone in the community about healthy health practices (hygiene, women’s health, domestic violence, etc). Side projects: community garden, improved cook stoves and USAID water filters. 2) Banco de las Mujeres: This is technically a subset of Hogares Saludables but is a pretty big beast so I am counting it as a separate project. I am working with the PC health director to launch a countrywide women’s microfinance project. I am creating manuals and leading trainings on financial literacy and creating sustainable small businesses. 3) Escojo Mi Vida: Working with youth in my community to become health promoters on HIV/AIDS and teen pregnancy prevention. Side project: environmental initiative to help the huge trash problem. Technically, I am doing all of this x 10 because there are 10 other communities that I have to start working in on these initiatives in March. Wish me luck!

Do you get to take regular Spanish classes?

Not anymore. The first 2 1/2 months in country were training and part of this included pretty intensive Spanish language training. Depending on the level that you “graduated” the training with, Peace Corps offers another training over the summer. I try to study/practice on my own but mostly I’m just learning to talk like a campesina ☺

Hopefully this gives you a better insight into my life as a Peace Corps volunteer in the Dominican Republic. Have any more questions?? Send them my way!

Advertisements

3 Responses to “Answers to Alex’s Questions”

  1. Kristen Karlin March 1, 2014 at 10:05 pm #

    thank you for sharing! i’m going to write you some questions 🙂 what is your address?!!

    • gbcaldwell March 7, 2014 at 6:34 pm #

      I can’t wait!

      Grayson Caldwell, PCV
      Cuerpo de Paz
      Av Bolivar 451, Gazcue
      Apartado Postal 1412
      Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

  2. Jessie Boas March 7, 2014 at 4:52 pm #

    your days sound a bit like my days… curious…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: